This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

why use php to create javascript?

Forum to discuss ExtJS and other JS plugins

why use php to create javascript?

by cwheat503 » Sat Jul 03, 2010 3:06 am

I am new to the frame work, not even finished with the jobeet tut. But I am wondering why there is a need for the javascript wrappers?

In my mind the reason for a framework is to separate out your code. View logic stays in the view (mostly html), you have your models (business logic/data) and your controllers.

So why mix javascript in php, why not just create the javascript in the view?

What are the advantages to using a helper like the jquery reloaded plugin? vrs just creating the JS in the view file?

I am not trying to flame so don't take it that way I am really trying to understand how/why all the pieces fit together.
cwheat503

Re: why use php to create javascript?

by halfer » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:15 am

I think PHP used to create JS snippets is still in the view layer, so it's in the right place. It's just a shortcut, often used to set up commonly-used ajax operations etc. However I personally never got on with it, and do everything in raw jQuery... but perhaps if I learnt, some things would be quicker to code! It's a trade-off between convenience and understanding everything at the low level.
halfer
Faithful Member

by garak » Sat Sep 18, 2010 4:09 pm

chrisadam wrote:There are times when you might want to fetch stuff from a database using PHP and then spit out a JavaScript file. For example, many image slideshows are controlled by javascript - but what if the image references are stored in MySQL? You can use PHP to fetch the info, and then include the javascript/php file in the <head> of your HTML page, something like this:

<script type="text/javascript" src="/includes/slideshow.js.php"></script>