This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

Adding new field to a form

Discussion relating to version 1.3.x and 1.4.x

Adding new field to a form

by AdamGilliver » Tue Apr 29, 2014 1:03 pm

Hi,
I am new to Symfony, but I've taken over maintenance of a pre-existing system built using Symfony as part of my job.

I am currently trying to add an extra field to the User form, so the user can choose which currency is shown within the rest of the system.
I have managed to add a new drop-down box and set it up to validate the entry, but it doesn't seem to be updating the database with this new field when the form is submitted.

This is the part of the form setup function, all I've changed is to add in an array with the currencies, and add in the currency widget and validation:
Code: Select all
protected static $currencyChoices = array('pound' => 'Pound', 'euro' => 'Euro', 'dollar' => 'Dollar');

public function setup()
  {
    $this->setWidgets(array(
      'id'             => new sfWidgetFormInputHidden(),
      'customer_id'    => new sfWidgetFormDoctrineChoice(array('model' => $this->getRelatedModelName('Customer'), 'add_empty' => true)),
      'name'           => new sfWidgetFormInputText(),
      'email'          => new sfWidgetFormInputText(),
     'currency'       => new sfWidgetFormSelect(array('choices' => self::$currencyChoices)),
      'password_sha1'  => new sfWidgetFormInputText(),
      'password_salt'  => new sfWidgetFormInputText(),
      'is_super_admin' => new sfWidgetFormInputCheckbox(),
      'created_at'     => new sfWidgetFormDateTime(),
      'updated_at'     => new sfWidgetFormDateTime(),
    ));

$this->setValidators(array(
      'id'             => new sfValidatorChoice(array('choices' => array($this->getObject()->get('id')), 'empty_value' => $this->getObject()->get('id'), 'required' => false)),