This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

Is There Any Tutorial For Beginners?

Discuss installing Symfony 2 here

Is There Any Tutorial For Beginners?

by dpm39560 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:10 pm

I've read all the posts in this section, and I've gone through the quick tour PDF, and everything seems to start in the middle - with assumptions that I already know many things I don't know.

I am NOT a beginner - I have over 20 years experience in computers. Mostly in PCs; I was a professional Access DB developer for years, and I'm now a professional website designer, so that much is familiar ground to me. However, much of what you seem to take for granted we should already know -- I don't. This is very frustrating.

For example, in the quick tour PDF, I followed the download and unpack instructions just fine. I got all of the directories installed into a /symfony/ folder in the root director of my server.

The next section says "If you are familiar with Composer, you can run the following command..." Excuse me?? What exactly does "run the command" mean?

My setup: Win 7-64 PC, FTP connection to my host, who runs the latest versions of PHP and MySQL, but doesn't give me access to their INI files. I'm not running XAMPP or WAMP or any other on-board PHP/Apache/MySQL emulator, as I prefer to develop directly from my server.

So how exactly do I "run a command"? That's got me stumped. This is what I meant about needing some more beginner-level material. Don't start with "run a command," but tell me: HOW do I do that?

Next it says, "If you have PHP 5.4, you can run the following command..." Again with the mysterious "run this command" instruction. And how do I know what version of PHP I have? Sure, I could spend 15 minutes on the internet researching how to write a quick PHP script that will tell me the version, but isn't it enough to know my web host runs the latest version of PHP?