This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

Running Symfony 2 on vagrant

Discuss installing Symfony 2 here

Running Symfony 2 on vagrant

by netmikey » Tue Oct 30, 2012 3:57 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Symfony. I'm trying to set up the standard edition on a vagrant box, but it looks like I have some issues with write permissions on the mounted file system. Here's my Vagrantfile:
Code: Select all
Vagrant::Config.run do |config|
  config.vm.box = "squeeze64" # just a basic debian squeeze box
  config.vm.forward_port 80, 8080
  config.vm.share_folder("v-root", "/vagrant", ".", :extra => 'dmode=777,fmode=777')
end

As you can see, I already modified the default config so that files and directories get mounted world-writable (I tried group-writable before and added the www-data user to the vagrant group without success).
In dev mode, the webserver user builds the caches on first access just fine. But when I run
php app/console cache:clear
, even as root(!), I get:
Clearing the cache for the dev environment with debug true

[Symfony\Component\Filesystem\Exception\IOException]               
  Failed to remove directory /vagrant/app/cache/dev_old/jms_security

Can anyone reproduce / solve this problem? Or has anyone successfully used Symfony 2 on vagrant before?
I don't want to use vagrant nfs mounts because we have windows devs which wouldn't be able to do that...

Best regards,
Mike
netmikey

Re: Running Symfony 2 on vagrant

by netmikey » Wed Oct 31, 2012 10:30 am

After a whole day of fiddling around, I think I can answer my own question now: