This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

Apache vhost for Symfony 2.2.1 on Ubuntu 13.04

Discuss installing Symfony 2 here

Apache vhost for Symfony 2.2.1 on Ubuntu 13.04

by stevec » Tue May 14, 2013 12:41 am

I've been doing PHP for a while, but this is my first time trying to work with Symfony.

I'm trying to follow along with the book, but Apache and/or Symfony is causing me issues trying to get to where I can actually load the configuration page (or any page for that matter).

Here is my virtual host in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/project:
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost *:80>
        ServerName dev.machine/project
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

DocumentRoot /home/user/project/web
        <Directory /home/user/project/web/>
                Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
                AllowOverride None
                Order allow,deny
                allow from all
        </Directory>

ErrorLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/error-project.log

# Possible values include: debug, info, notice, warn, error, crit,
        # alert, emerg.
        LogLevel info

CustomLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/access-project.log combined

</VirtualHost>

For some reason Apache isn't letting this get anywhere. The error.log shows:
[Mon May 13 18:36:45 2013] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /var/www/project
[Mon May 13 18:36:45 2013] [error] [client 127.0.0.1] File does not exist: /var/www/favicon.ico

Now this alone is frustrating enough, because from what I know of Apache the DocumentRoot and Directory calls *should* make it look in the project directory and not /var/www. However since I want to get this running so I can actually use symfony, I went ahead and made a symlink from /var/www/project => /home/user/project/web and now I just get a list of the files in project/web.