This forum is in READ-ONLY mode.
You can look around, but if you want to ask a new question, please use Stack Overflow.

Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed]

About symfony tutorials, symfony book and API documentation.

Potential improvements to symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 [renamed]

by grymuz » Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:53 pm

I do,

really - no description for many elements in API, no "The Book", where is form_tag_remote?

I mean, I can't find anything anymore, there are no proper tutorials, some are for doctrine without a propel version and I'm using propel !! What is that? What happened to symfony for anyone?

Really I love symfony, and I've done few projects using it, but I feel like a complete newbie, maybe new symfony is great but the docs suck and it makes the whole framework unusable for me not to mention new users, who must be having fun trying.

For 1.2 they tried to somehow transport previous very good docs (in fact I think it was the best among web frameworks - even better than Djangos) but it was already inconsistent, but since the changes in code weren't so big it somehow worked. Now it's just not what it used to.

Now you can shout at me :)~ :-)~ :smile:

[Mod: topic renamed to something more constructive! -- halfer]
grymuz

Re: do you also think that symfony docs for 1.3/1.4 suck?

by Sgurbat » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:14 pm

Unfortunately I agree with you.
I just started studying symfony but I have great difficulty following the examples, the API and tutorials.
I bought "The Definitive Guide to Symfony" but still refers to version 1.0
Learning Ruby on Rails has been great fun but for now I can not say the same for Symfony.

However I will continue to study it.
Sgurbat

by skyblaze » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:27 pm

I also think that it is a "shame" that such a great framework is going to a wrong direction as for the docs, I hope the core team will do something about this very soon.
skyblaze
Faithful Member

by Sgurbat » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:33 pm